Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King

Title Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King
Year 2009
Catalog number
Released in US – 6/2/2009


01. Grux
02. Shake Me Like a Monkey
03. Funny the Way It Is
04. Lying in the Hands of God
05. Why I Am
06. Dive In
07. Spaceman
08. Squirm
09. Alligator Pie (Cockadile)
10. Seven
11. Time Bomb
12. Baby Blue
13. You and Me (#35)






After four years of touring, studio sessions, and after the tragic death of LeRoi the band finally released Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King – as tribute to their fallen brother. The album begins with LeRoi (Grux) and ends with LeRoi (hidden track after You and Me, #35) The album was extremely well recieved, after two (and a half – Busted Stuff) studio albums that shook the hardcore fans, for being too far away from what DMB stood for. BWGK is set to become a true classic album in time. Tim Reynolds, Rashawn Ross and Jeff Coffin contribute to the songs on this album. It was released on a double LP – and in many other different combinations including DVD, bonus disc (Little Red Bird) and litographs, picture books etc.

Dave Matthews has made numerous detailed drawings for this album. The band did not sleep through the making of this record in any way.

R.I.P. LeRoi – you will be missed

Cover Economic cardboard cover